The next level qualifications

Alongside apprenticeships and A Levels, T Levels are now one of the three main options for school leavers, and are designed to replace many of the vocational qualifications currently offered at Level 3.

t levels bar chart

T Levels have been designed with leading businesses and employers to give you the knowledge and skills you need. More than 250 businesses – including Fujitsu and Skanska – have been involved, so you can be confident your T Level will move you to the next level.

The structure of a T Level is different from current vocational programmes as the number of hours increases significantly from an average of 540 hours now to approximately 1,800 hours over the two years of the qualification. These hours include a minimum of 45 days industry placement, making it much more meaningful to the student and employer.

In a new two-year, Level 3 technical study programme, T Levels offer:

  • Specific practical skills and knowledge in a chosen industry or occupation
  • 45 days of industry placement at a relevant employer
  • Core English, maths and digital skills



We offer T Level programmes across three subject areas, with more being introduced in the coming years.

Business, Accountancy and Management
Construction and Building Technology

The T Level Building Services Engineering (BSE) for Construction has a choice of occupational specialisms in either Electrical or Plumbing routes. The T Level Onsite Construction supports the development of skills for careers in Carpentry and Joinery. There is a one-year Foundation to T Level programme in Construction that helps to build the practical skills and knowledge for the Industry you are entering. The Foundation year also supports students who may need to retake English and maths GCSE in their first year at college.


Digital Technology (inc. Media and Music)

T Level programmes are available to school leavers; you need to be aged 16 - 18 at the start of the programme.


When you pass your T Level, you will get a nationally recognised certificate showing the overall grade you achieved - pass, merit or distinction. It will also give details of what you learned on the course to help you move into skilled employment or a higher apprenticeship. Your T Level will be worth UCAS points – a T Level Distinction is worth the same as 3 A levels at A* – and will be recognised by universities and other education providers so you can choose to continue studying if you wish.